Drawing #24 and #25 … both half finished

Medium: Noodler’s Ink,  and a Pencil

Paper: Canson 9″x12″ 70LB Recycled Drawing Paper (I feel so green!)

Story: This first one was to illustrate a quote, coupled with a verb, we were given in my portfolio polishing class. The quote was “A great pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do.” – Walter Bagehot and the verb is “Dragging.”

Thoughts: I really wanted to evoke one of those really wonderful silent and devilish childhood moments but I think I got so worked up about this being for my class (instead of for me and you, dear internet) that I lost any sense of emotion and just got a kid holding a chair (and not a very convincing one at that!). It just feels silent and empty instead of silent empty and full of devious halloween candy eating. Also, when I was a kid we were only allowed one halloween candy per day until it was gone … my husband informs me that this was not normal. However, being the goody-two-shoes that I was, I think that even if I HAD known where the candy was kept, I wouldn’t have snuck any.

Medium: Pencil

Paper: Canson 9″x12″ 70LB Recycled Drawing Paper (I feel so green!)

Story: This is the beginning of something I’m doing for Illustration Friday. Not done yet and I did it on the wrong paper for painting, I don’t know where my brain is at today. Maybe I’ll break out the wacom and do a little digital coloring.

Thoughts: Obviously this still needs a lot of work… I want to have a lot more kids, and work a bit more on 2 of the kids already up there. I think I want this to be a long thin illustration, in almost full color… I’m not really at a level where I can just make up kids with this level of detail. So I had to spend about half the day finding sources and being all worried about what that would mean in terms of a career. I can’t really afford to run a photo shoot every time I get a job … I mean, I don’t ALWAYS need sources, but when it comes to odd angles of the body and head, I’m pretty much at a loss. And it’s not like I can learn from figure drawing because most models are full grown, not children … for very good reason considering that most figure drawing models are nude and whatnot.

Anyway, I’m too tired to be witty or really anything. Just felt bad about being so inconsistent with my updates, so instead of nothing, you get two halfies, which is practically a whole.

Countdown: 27-25 drawings to go! Go here to find out more about my 50 in 60 personal challenge and to enter to win a free print (shipping included!) of any of the 50 drawings I will do.

So once these are done I’m officially half way and only, what, a month behind? hehe …. I’m feeling more lost style-wise than when I started. Grrr! But I’ll keep it up and honor my agreement to give away a free print.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • whendy  On February 10, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    very nice

Trackbacks

  • By Drawing #25 … again « A Baby Illustrator on February 10, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    [...] I know it’s not what it was originally going to be, I sort of fell out of love with it. 100% realism was never my goal and I think in [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

